Announcement

Collapse

Announcement

Welcome to the NEW iPad Rehab Forum! Everyone is welcome to read posts and learn for free. If you'd like to post your own question on the forum, please click "register" above or go here: https://forum.ipadrehab.com/register to enroll as a paid subscriber for $29/mo for unlimited access to our forum support and private signature failure section.
See more
See less

Water damaged Iphone 6 - No Boot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water damaged Iphone 6 - No Boot

Hi,

After typing the message below, I felt it necessary to give a brief introduction/background as this is my first post. This is my first dive into phone repair, but I am no stranger to general electronics/electrical repair as a hobby or simply out of necessity. I am a EE, but my post-college experience is mostly around industrial electrical and instrumentation. I have (and am obtaining) most of the needed tools and equipment to do these repairs, but I am new to the nuances of the iphone platform and troubleshooting techniques.

I am attempting to repair (recover data from) a water damaged Iphone 6. It was not submerged but received enough water (presumably through the SIM card slot) to cause damage. Unfortunately, it wasn't immediately powered off and attempts were made to reboot, hard reset, and charge during the hours/days following the water intrusion. I understand that, at one point, there was a red screen, but it also booted normally once several hours later then died within a minute (phone already had a failing battery).

After opening the phone, the only signs of damage were around C5202. It was a copperish (green) corrosion that was then cleaned and verified that the capacitor was not shorted. That said, I have elected to wait until my new hot air station is delivered before attempting to remove the shields.