Announcement

Collapse

Announcement

Welcome to the NEW iPad Rehab Forum! Everyone is welcome to read posts and learn for free. If you'd like to post your own question on the forum, please click "register" above or go here: http://forum.mendonipadrehab.com/register to enroll as a paid subscriber for $29/mo for unlimited access to our forum support and private signature failure section.
See more
See less

iPhone 8+ jumping straight to 1amp

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• iPhone 8+ jumping straight to 1amp

Hi,

So first of all, pardon me for my inexperience on the subject.
    I am a MacBook repair tech and I never had to repair an iPhone other than a screen replacement on my personal iPhone.

Now, I am having that iPhone 8+ for Data recovery cause my customer have trust in me and don't want to risk his data bringing it to another shop.
    I tried to explain her that I had little experience on it but I could try.

So here is what she told me and what I can find so far:

When she had it, the phone, once not turning on again, could be seen by iTunes and it would prompt the user to reset it which she didn't do as she wanted her data.
    Now that I have it, I was never able to get it to show up on iTunes, on both Mac and PC.
    Opening the phone I could see that it was a refurbished Chinese phone, in good conditions though.
    I haven't seen any liquid damage however the NAND has a stamp that leads me to think it has been replaced...
    Other than that the mainboard is in great conditions.

I don't have yet a PSU adapter to 8+ battery connector but have ordered it.
    The only think I could try is to measure the amperage when plugged to the charger port and it's doing this (with battery plugged)
    It's going from 0.1/0.2 to 1amp and stays there.
    The battery is charging as leaving the phone for 2 days, the battery rail was at 1.2V.
    After plugging the charger in, the battery was at 3.8V as expected, measured on the motherboard.