Announcement

Collapse

Announcement

Welcome to the NEW iPad Rehab Forum! Everyone is welcome to read posts and learn for free. If you'd like to post your own question on the forum, please click "register" above or go here: http://forum.mendonipadrehab.com/register to enroll as a paid subscriber for $29/mo for unlimited access to our forum support and private signature failure section.
See more
See less

Iphone 6 image issue

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iphone 6 image issue

Hello and greetings from the Netherlands!

I am a microsoldering noob that just recently got into microsoldering and board repair, mainly as a hobby for now. I started hands-on practicing about a month ago by buying broken (mostly water damaged) iphone 6 phones. I've already managed to repair a few boards, which I think is pretty cool!

So now I'm working on this iphone 6 board which was severely water damaged. First thing I did was hook it up to bench power supply and immediately saw it was shorted as expected. I cleaned the board and verified short on main with my multi meter. I then knocked of the big ol' rusty cap next to wifi chip and that removed the short on vcc main. I replaced this cap with one from a donor board.

Next I proceeded randomly testing caps on the board and I found another short on PP5V7_SAGE_AVDDH. Since there are only three caps directly on this line I removed them one by one, checking for the short after each removal. With all caps removed from this line the short was still there. I proceeded by removing one of the ICs this line connects to (Meson). After removing this chip the short was gone. I reballed the chip and put it back. The short was back as well. I removed the chip again and replaced with a chip from a donor. Now the short was gone from this line! (I did put the caps back as well)