Announcement

Collapse

Announcement

Welcome to the NEW iPad Rehab Forum! Everyone is welcome to read posts and learn for free. If you'd like to post your own question on the forum, please click "register" above or go here: http://forum.mendonipadrehab.com/register to enroll as a paid subscriber for $29/mo for unlimited access to our forum support and private signature failure section.
See more
See less

SMD component tombstoning during SMD repair with hot air rework.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SMD component tombstoning during SMD repair with hot air rework.

Hi everyone, I am still learning to do microsoldering but I am really old hats to electronic repair (had a full time job before that repairing TV and other electronics. Many of the electronics do have SMD repair but not BGA, SMT semiconductors (gullwing leads mostly) and SMD passives were larger.

Well, now I have to work with this at extremely smaller scale than before and lead free more tricky than before especially microsoldering, BGA is easy part. I have done both lead and lead-free soldering extensively for decades till now. Still have dislike for lead-free but you have to turn with the punch. Did use sufficient flux of good quality but still looking for tips and suggestions for better solder that is easier to deal with.

I know part of this usually the pad connected to ground plane stays colder while other pad to VCC plane warms up first and melts first causing passive component to tombstone using hot air rework.
    I do have hot tweezers (small one, also do have larger one as well, new tips) also but still having not enough heat input to melt to put on but pads wouldn't melt easily or remove as easily. I do have PCB heater but this is for iphone circuit board size only and find this really useful.